Transgender

I think I feel sorry for transgender people, but not for the normal reasons that seem to be popular these days.  I feel sorry for the way society looks at them.  I feel sorry for the discrimination they go for, because even as just a minority in general, I have suffered through discrimination in so many ways, and I can’t say it’s fun.  So I can relate, but at the same point in time I can’t relate.  I can’t say that I know what it feels like, because it’s a different kind of discrimination.  But I feel bad for them.

I feel bad that they feel trapped in the wrong body.  I feel bad that they feel out of place not only in their family as many of us do, not only in society in general as some of us do, but in and of their own body.  I mean the way people treat gay people, it is hard to be gay.  But the way people regard transgender people is even worse.  It’s disgusting and reprehensible to say the least.  But I mean at the very least, couldn’t you feel empathy for a person because they are suffering in general?

Leave a Reply

